Belton Tennis Association - Dunlop Scholarship

Dunlop Scholarship

Dunlop established a $2,000 scholarship in 1992 to be awarded to an incoming college freshman.

Congratulations to Garrett Brooker, the 2023 Dunlop Scholarship recipient.  Garrett is a graduate of Oceanside Collegiate Academy, and is attending Saint Michael's College.

Click here for the Dunlop Scholarship Application Form

Graduating high school seniors who meet the criteria are encouraged to apply.  Applications for the scholarship may be accessed here or be requested by emailing


Completion of the application form is required, including a letter of recommendation. Applications must be submited by the entry deadline of May 15 2024.  Only applications which are emailed to by the deadline will be accepted.  Please do not mail your application!

Address questions about the scholarship to

Selection of the recipient is based upon (in order of importance):

  1. Scholarship
  2. Activities, leadership and honors
  3. Sportsmanship and character
  4. Tennis accomplishments
  5. Essay

The players must meet the following criteria to be eligible for the scholarship:

  1. Must have played in at least two Palmetto Championships (the current year may count as one of the two).
  2. Must have received a USTA-SC ranking at least three years and been a South Carolina resident at least two full school years..
  3. Must play in the current year’s Palmetto Championships (unless junior eligibility has expired, there is an injury or illness or there is a conflict with school or graduation).
  4. Must be an incoming freshman at an accredited post-secondary college, university or Vocational school in the United States.
  5. Must not already have a full college scholarship.

Former Dunlop Scholarship recipients include (listed in order by the year received):

  • Will Shelley (1992)
  • Elizabeth Irwin & Mitch Sprengelmeyer (1993)
  • Jill Marden & Drew Weavers (1994)
  • Stephen Moose (1995)
  • Susie Carlberg (1996)
  • Anna Martin (1997)
  • Peter Netzler (1998)
  • Kevin Reichert (1999)
  • Bill Brehmer (2000)
  • Lauren Stephens (2001)
  • Erin Donovan (2002)
  • Symmes Johnson (2003)
  • Brittany Lanford (2004)
  • Jason Basile (2005)
  • Virginia Berry (2006)
  • Will Guzick (2007)
  • Zachary Sprouse (2008)
  • Stephanie Cox (2009)
  • Joel Cook (2010)
  • Kyle Koch (2011)
  • Thomas Johnson (2012)
  • Robert Conley (2013)
  • Alexander Miller (2014)
  • Mary McNeal (2015)
  • Jeffrey Dayton (2016)
  • Spencer Brown (2017)
  • Elizabeth Truluck (2018)
  • John Edward Cahill (2019)
  • Crawford Latham (2020)
  • Luke Wells (2021)
  • Rivers Cahill (2022)
  • Garrett Brooker (2023)

The South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation also offers first year $2,000 college scholarships.  The application deadline is June 30 each year.  The recipient of the Dunlop Scholarship is not eligible to receive a SCTPF Scholarship.  The application is similar to the Dunlop application and may be accessed at